copyright Altabird.com

copyright Altabird.com

Having just barely escaped the most snow that Portland has had in a long, long time, I’ve made it to Park City, UT.  As I write this, I’m sipping a delicious beer and looking out across the valley at the lights of Old Town.  Only a little while ago did the snow stop, allowing the whiteout to drop away.  This morning was hazy, and no sooner had I made coffee than it started dumping that champagne powder that Utahns always rave about.  The flakes swirled in and out, and visibility dropped to about twenty feet beyond the large windows of the living room, just projecting the bright white light that seems to radiate from snow storms.  I was almost glad to be inside with my coffee and a bit of work to do. I’m forced to finish my Organic Chemistry semester at home because I became rather sick during finals week.  So, today, I read and wrote instead of riding the storm.

Tomorrow though…tomorrow’s my day.  It’s a joy to have a powder day for the first ski day, and an even greater joy to be here in good health and ready to ride.  I missed most of the season last year (all but 3 days) because I had surgery on my shoulder to repair cumulative climbing/skiing injuries, which put me out of my main activities (climbing/skiing) until late May.  It has taken months of climbing to get my strength back to and above where I was last year, and I am a little sad to know that that strength will fade while I’m in Utah.  I know, tough life.

So tomorrow I will be rising at 7 am to get myself over to Deer valley (I know, I know, but we still have discount tickets, and they expire on Christmas) to hop the first chair up into the fresh snow.  My guess is that the steeps won’t be open, as avalanche danger is ridiculous right now because of a buried, persistent, weak layer and tons of new snow, but it should be a good day of skiing the deep stuff in the trees, warming up to this whole sport once again.

