Last night for no particular reason, I decided to go on a long bike ride over to Boring, the charmingly named city two towns over.  I called Alex and dragged him out of bed (11:30pm) and we set off down the highway as if we were going to Mt. Hood.  I had two lights in both the front and the back, while Alex only had the most invisible back light that there ever was.

Our Route

Our Route

The ride was beautiful and uneventful except for two events.  The first:  right before I reached Boring, I had switched on and started to use my headlamp because I’d hit a few big and invisible holes.  This I think was the factor that antagonized a local dog to begin barking and chasing me at full tilt.  Not wishing to discover what might happen if he actually reached me, I accelerated faster than I think I have ever done before.  In a few powerful pedal strokes I went from cruising gently to hauling ass, and I didn’t spin down until I reached Boring. The second: on the way back, around about 242nd street (middle of nowhere) we saw a car that had pulled off to the side of the road.  We approached cautiously should it decide to start moving again and pull out into us, we passed it to the left.  As soon as we’d made it around, the blue and red lights came on and with a ‘Bwoop!’ the cops pulled us over.  Sauntering out of the car, they asked us about where we were going, what the hell we were doing riding down the highway in the middle of the night, and then gave us hell for not having our lights on.  One of them took our names and went back to the car, presumably to check for warrants or such, while the other stood and chatted about how nice our bikes were.  Returning with no beef, the other cop let us go, and they watched as we rode away, this time with our lights on.

Ride Elevation Profile

Ride Elevation Profile

We  made the 35 mile trip in just under 2 hours, which I think is a pretty good time for such hilly terrain, and I was riding my fixed gear no less.  When we arrived back home, Alex thanked me for dragging him out of bed to “get stronger”, and I moseyed on home to eat the last piece of the strawberry rhubarb pie that I had made earlier that day.  Finding no pie remaining, I settled on a fat tire and a couple of fried eggs from the local egg co-op before finding some grateful sleep.

